The official mission of the School of Medicine has started in 1961 by admitting 150 medical students. It had been affiliated to Shahid Beheshti University (Previously called “Melli University”), and since then, it has been affiliated to SBMU. In the late 2001, the new building of the SBMU School of Medicine was constructed and used in an area of 25500 m². Presently, this school benefits from 106 full-time faculty members consisting of 24 professors, 23 associate professors, 52 assistant professors, and 7 lecturers that educates students and conducts researches in a verity of medical fields.